Skip to content

Welcome, Redditors!

April 7, 2011

So I put up a post in Reddits “Ask Me Anything” forum about my experiences with eagle hunters in Kyrgyzstan. Here I am to confirm that this really is me! Stick around and enjoy my site. You’ll see that I do a lot more here than just hunt with eagles – I also research Kyrgyz folk music and anything else that floats my boat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lane Bellman permalink
    April 7, 2011 7:50 pm

    Have you been hunting with taigans and eagle in tandem? What do you think of the taigans? Are they as important a piece in the Kirgiz culture? Are hunting opportunities becoming more difficult, and public land less accessible?

    • April 7, 2011 9:18 pm

      Hi Lane,

      I haven’t actually hunted with taigans myself, in tandem with eagles or otherwise. I think they are beautiful dogs though and from the millions of stories I’ve heard I know them to be quite extraordinary hunting partners. They are an important part of Kyrgyz culture, but they just aren’t as iconic as the falconers are. I wouldn’t say that hunting opportunities are becoming more difficult in terms of land accessibility, but it is becoming more difficult because there are fewer taigans and fewer people with that kind of expertise.

Leave a Reply

